Newsroom    NetWORK    Member Directory     Resources    Contact   

Global Innovator's Award


Celebrating the Forward-Thinkers, Innovators and Game Changers in Corporate Real Estate

The H. Bruce Russell Global Innovator’s Award (GIA) recognizes excellence and innovation in corporate real estate. Since 2000, the award has honored the “game changers” in our industry—those individuals and companies whose work, ideas and best practices elevate the practice of corporate real estate.

Nominees for the GlA are chosen from project submissions in three categories—Sustainable Leadership, Economic Development and Industry Excellence.

The winner of the Global Innovator’s Award is recognized live, on-stage at CoreNet Global’s global summit. Their achievement is also showcased in the LEADER magazine and the Knowledge Center Online, and distributed via CoreNet Global press releases.

Do you have what it takes to be a Global Innovator? Click here to learn about the guidelines and submit an entry.

For more information, contact Nichole Bazemore at

13th-Annual Global Innovator's Award Goes to Google and Fidelity Real Estate

GIA 2013 Google Caspar Wagner of Google (right) accepts the Global Innovator's Award from CoreNet Global Chairman Jim Scannell

Fidelity GIA 2013
Fidelity (middle)  accepts the Global Innovator's Award from CoreNet Global Chairman Jim Scannell. Also in photo  Gensler Sponsor.

Google received the award for its Healthy Materials Program in the Sustainable Leadership category.  Google uses building materials such as paints, adhesives, carpets and others with the lowest level of volatile organic compounds and formaldehyde possible, and excludes toxic elements such as lead and mercury.

The program advances a larger objective: to transform the materials industry so that everyone can benefit. Google encourages leaders in the industry to follow their lead and partner with the company to champion their own dedication to health and transparency within their own organizations.

Fidelity Real Estate received the award for creating a next-generation data center, called “CentercoreTM” in the Industry Excellence category. Centercore features off-site constructed elements which constitute a next-generation design that allow for excess capacity and preserving capital. Centercore significantly reduces data center costs while increasing ability to adapt to a changing IT landscape, crating a clear competitive advantage in any industry that relies on IT services.

Both Global Innovator’s winners were featured in the September/October issue of the LEADER, which is published by CoreNet Global.

Judges for the 2013 GIA were well represented by leading companies and included:

  • Buzz Anderson, Vice President, Real Estate, Fiserv
  • Roy Black, Director of the Real Estate Program and Professor in the Practice of Finance, Goizueta Business School, Emory University
  • Del Boyette, Boyette Strategic Advisors
  • Debra Dailey,Vice President Workplace Experience Strategy, Sodexo
  • Sally Maxwell, Program Manager, IBM Real Estate Operations
  • Trex Morris, Global Real Estate Leader, Ernst & Young
  • Robert T. Osgood, Jr., Principal, Flad Architects
  • Henry Smith, Director of Real Estate & Facilities, Earthlink

Sponsor Gensler

Prior Winners:
  20122011   |   2010   |   2009   |   2008   |   2007   |   2006   |   2005   |   2004   |   2003-2000